Premier League Darts: Unstoppable van Gerwen Storms to Title

Mighty Mike reclaimed the title with dominant displays to beat Adrian Lewis and Phil Taylor.

Michael van Gerwen, 2016 Premier League Darts champion - Lawrence Lustig/PDC

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN ended a memorable 2016 Premier League Darts campaign with the trophy back in his hands after a brace of comfortable victories at the O2 in London on Thursday evening.BETWAY PREMIER LEAGUE DARTS 2016 PLAY OFF FINALS O2 ARENA LONDON PIC;LAWRENCE LUSTIG FINAL PHIL TAYLOR V MICHAEL VAN GERWEN MICHAEL VAN GERWEN WINS

The Dutch star cruised past Adrian Lewis and Phil Taylor on finals night to secure the £200,000 winner’s cheque, which is added to the £25,000 bonus he claimed for topping the table after 15 weeks of league fixtures.

Despite finishing top of the league and reaching the final in each of the four years in which he has competed in the elite event, van Gerwen had not won the title since his debut season in 2013.

And the world number one, who has now won all three majors in 2016 since the World Championship, admitted his pride at achieving one of his big targets for the year.

He said: “Behind the World Championship, this is probably the biggest tournament and it was one of my goals this year to win this trophy.

“It’s extra special for me after losing in the final for the last two years. I could have won those games but I let myself down and I can’t ask for anything more than this because to beat Phil is a pleasure in itself as he’s the greatest player who’s ever lived.

“I was really solid tonight and I didn’t make many mistakes. I did the right thing at the right moments and I’m really glad with this result.

“It’s not all about tonight, but about the last 16 weeks. You put so much effort in and try to do well and it’s paid out by winning this trophy.”

van Gerwen lost just one match in a phenomenal season, which also saw him break the world record for the highest average in a televised match when he posted an incredible 123.4 against Michael Smith in Aberdeen.

He will now began preparations for the Dubai Darts Masters, which he has won three times since its inauguration in 2013.

Leave a Reply