, ,

Grand Slam of Darts: van Gerwen Retains Title After Dominant Display

MvG sees off James Wade 16-8 in the 2016 final.

Grand Slam of Darts: Michael van Gerwen Retains Title

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN was was crowned as the Grand Slam of Darts champion for the second consecutive year after a comfortable victory against James Wade in Sunday’s final in Wolverhampton.

The world number one successfully defended his title with a 16-8 triumph thanks to three trade-mark power surges of winning five legs on the spin.

The Dutch sensation, who saw off Peter Wright earlier in the day in an epic semi-final, was unable to repeat his brilliant performance but did more than enough to clinch his eighth big TV title of the year.

“I’m very happy to win this trophy again,” said van Gerwen, who heads to Minehead next week for his next title defence in the Players Championship Finals before next month’s World Championship.

“This is one of the biggest titles after the World Championship and it is very important to me. I kept my focus and played really well at times.

“I didn’t play as well in the final but it is also a good positive to win without hitting top form.”

Wade got an early break of throw to take a 3-1 lead but van Gerwen cancelled it out immediately and went on a run of five straight legs to take control.

Wade stopped the rot by winning the next two legs to reduce the Dutchman’s lead to 6-5 but that sparked off another five-leg winning run from van Gerwen.

The next three legs went the way of Wade as he cut the deficit to 11-8 but ‘Mighty Mike’ produced a brilliant 136 increase his advantage to four legs.

And he never looked back from there, sealing a 16-8 victory with another five-leg surge.

2016 Grand Slam of Darts Champion

A photo posted by Michael van Gerwen (@mvg180) on



Leave a Reply